EDITORIAL

The New Council

The sixteen newly elected Academy Council members for the trienium 1993 to 1996 held their first meeting at Jan Smuts Airport on 17 and 18 August. Formulating a strategic plan for the Academy's future was the agenda for the first day.

For part of the day we also looked more globally at medicine in South Africa and the relationship of the Academy to the pharmaceutical industry in particular. Mr John Wooldridge, CEO of Zeneca Pharmaceuticals attended this part of the meeting with Messrs Murray Clark (Marketing Director) and Paul Glover (Works Manager). Zeneca assisted with the financing of this two day meeting.

On the second day office bearers were elected, further members co-opted and portfolios allocated as we worked through a marathon agenda. We left with the feeling that this is not just another new council but that things are going to happen in an accelerated mode. There are new faces involved and an eagerness to get on with things. SA Family Practice hopes to be able to report on this action to you in even more dynamic News Section.

The new team is as follows:

President National Chairman Vice Chairmen

Secretary

Treasurer

(S/Tvl)

Sam Fehrsen Bruce Sparks (S/Tvl)* Stanley Levenstein (W/Cape) Neethia Naidoo (N/Midlands) Naomi Arnheim

Garth Brink (Natal)

Executive Members

Saville Furman (W/Cape) Ron Henbest (N/Tvl) Gawie Pistorius (OVS)

Portfolios Directors

Recertification Bruce Sparks Research Peter Matthews Marketing Russell Kirkby Membership director, Chris van Selm (Natal) and the Promotions Director, Sue McGuinness are part of this portfolio.

Family Health Foundation Mike Perlman (S/Tvl)

Vocational Training Examinations **Quality** Assurance Archivist

Stanley Levenstein Ron Henbest Bruce Sparks Basil Jaffe (W/Cape)

Task Group Directors

HIV/AIDS Andrew Truscott Women's Reproductive Health & Sexuality

Rural Health Academy Ombudsman S A Family Practice Editor Sam Fehrsen

Neethia Naidoo Neethia Naidoo Basil Iaffe

Other Members

Hugh Brathwaite (E/Cape) Guy Parr (W/Cape) Basil Michaelides (E/Cape) Bentley Phillips (S/Tvl) Johan Kruger (N/Tvl) Khaya Mfenyana, Mvuyo Tom) Derek Hellenberg Mohammed Cassimjee Bobby Erasmus, Pierre de Villiers Ahmed Suleman Russel Kirkby

* The brackets donate elected members and the regions from which they were elected.

We wish the team well as they tackle their tasks.

Sam Jehnen